40 Unknown and Interesting Facts About IPL

The IPL started gaining popularity from its very first match. Players from different countries play in IPL tournaments, representing the names of India’s cities. The Indian Premier League is also known as IPL. The IPL is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, BCCI. The special thing about the IPL is that this match only lasts 20-20 overs. Here we look at the 40 Shocking and Unknown Facts about IPL (Indian Premier League) in this article.

Fact#1. The IPL started on 23 September 2007 and the first winning team of the IPL was Rajasthan Royals.

Fact#2. The live telecast of the IPL was the first broadcast on YouTube in 2010.

Fact#3. Brandon McCullum made the game more popular and interesting by scoring 158 runs in the first match of the IPL.

Fact#4. The most catches in IPL matches have been done by Suresh Raina.

Fact#5. In all the matches of IPL, the first match is won by the teams of Mumbai Indians or Kolkata Knight Riders.

Fact#6. In the history of IPL till 2015, Yuvraj Singh (Yuvraj Singh) was the highest purchase of 16 crores rupees while the IPL prize money was 15 crores.

Fact#7. CSK is the only team in the IPL that has not changed its captain. Captain Cool Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the captain of CSK since the beginning of IPL.

Fact#8. Delhi Daredevils is at the forefront of being at the bottom of the table, in 2011, 2013, and 2014, Delhi Daredevils were at the bottom.

Fact#9. Yusuf Pathan has been a member of the winning team three times as the IPL RR won in the first season when he was in Rajasthan Royals and then in 2012 and 2014 while in KKR’s team, his team won the IPL Trophy.

Fact#10. Adam Gilchrist is the only player in IPL history who bowled only one ball and got wickets on him as well.

Fact#11. No player of KKR has scored a century in the Indian Premier League after Brendom Mechlm, perhaps this year may break the record.

Fact#12. Piyush Chawla has scored more than 400 overs in an Indian Premier League career but did not bowl a single ball.

Fact#13. Parthiv Patel is the first player to play from all 6 different teams.

Fact#14. Anil Kumble is the only player to be the Man of the Match even though he was in the losing team in the final match.

Fact#15. Harbhajan Singh is the player who gets the most out at zero, Harbhajan has returned to the pavilion without opening the account 12 times in total.

Fact#16. Chennai Superkings is the team that lost the final most times in 9 seasons of the Indian Premier League, but Dhoni’s team reached the finals in 2008, 2012, 2013, and 2015 but lost.

Fact#17. Obviously, Zaheer Khan is the first player in IPL and the only player to play the 500th match.

Fact#18. RCB holds the record for the highest (263) and lowest score (49) in IPL.

Fact#19. Manish Pandey is the first Indian player to score a century in IPL.

Fact#20. The youngest player to play IPL is Sarfaraz Khan and the oldest player is Brad Hodge.

Fact#21. Chris Gayle was not bought by any team in the fourth season of IPL but later RCB gave him a place in his team.

Fact#22. The IPL was established in 2007 by Lalit Modi, a former member of the BCCI. The IPL is the most prevalent cricket game in the world and ranks sixth among all sports leagues in the world. The IPL was broadcast live on YouTube in 2010.

Fact#23. In the history of IPL till 2015, Yuvraj Singh was the highest bought at Rs 16 crores while the IPL prize money was 15 crores.

Fact#24. In IPL matches, Harbhajan Singh has been out on zero runs only the most times. Overall, Harbhajan Singh has returned to Pavilion without scoring 12 times.

Fact#26. Parthiv Patel has played for 6 different teams in the IPL. No other player has done this.

Fact#27. According to the BCCI, the 2015 IPL contributed the US $ 182 million to the Indian economy.

Fact#28. The name of Delhi Daredevils was changed to Delhi Capitals before the start of IPL 2019.

Fact#29. The BCCI had banned Sreesanth from playing cricket matches in IPL-2013 for lifetime spot-fixing.

Fact#30. The most speculative is also used in IPL, it is a criminal act in which many people have gone bankrupt.

Fact#31. Among All 9 teams in this IPL, Delhi Daredevils is the only team that had not qualified for Finals

Fact#32. Ishant Sharma has given 66 runs in his 4-over spell which is the highest for any bowler in IPL

Fact#33. MS Dhoni, Gautham Gambir, and Rohit Sharma are the Indian captains who won IPL (Twice)

Fact#34. Chris Gayle has scored 5 Centuries in IPL so far

Fact#35. Sachin Tendulkar is the only Indian batsman to win MOT in IPL

Fact#36. Gautham Gambir top’s the list of most ducks in IPL (11 times)

Fact#37. Rohit Sharma and Yusuf Pathan are the only two players who won IPL thrice

Fact#38. Suresh Raina has Played 132 Games in IPL so far

Fact#39. Parthiv Patel is the only player in IPL history who played for 6 IPL teams

Fact#40. Piyush Chawla is the bowler who did not bowl a dot ball in IPL History

More Interesting Facts

Interesting Facts About MS Dhoni

Unknown and Interesting Facts About IPL

45 Amazing Facts About Cricket

20 Interesting Facts About Olympic Games


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *